Skip to content
PitchMark calls for fundamental rethink of Intellectual Property value among creators and their clients

Press release -

PitchMark calls for fundamental rethink of Intellectual Property value among creators and their clients

Correction of misconceptions urgently needed to bust dangerous myths

SINGAPORE, Wednesday, October 13, 2021 - PitchMark LLP - the global platform that deters idea theft - is calling for creatives and innovators to substantially rethink the value ascribed to ideas.

In a digital world, where economic value is created before products are manufactured and before services are executed, the value of IP should get much greater emphasis than is currently the case.

Ironically, this is often least appreciated by the innovators who create this value, especially when they pitch their ideas to prospective clients and investors.

In a world where ideas are stored digitally in the cloud and sold as Non-Fungible Tokens (NFTs) for millions of dollars, innovators are leaving money on the table.

"When innovators do a pitch, they want their prospective clients to get the idea, but not take it. Yet innovators often leave themselves wide open," said Mark Laudi, Managing Partner of PitchMark.

"In any situation where Non-Disclosure Agreements are inappropriate, such as a competitive pitch, a submission to a competition, or even a job interview, innovators often don't fully understand the value of their ideas, and operate under the false impression that there is nothing they can do if their idea is used without permission or compensation."

"This is clearly false, which is why PitchMark is building a global legal network to proactively match make innovators with IP counsel to pre-empt any unauthorised use of their ideas," Laudi concluded.

PitchMark will discuss these and other points during the AIPPI Meet the Sponsor day on October 13. PitchMark LLP is a proud to be a Platinum sponsor of AIPPI, this year held online October 15-22.

PitchMark has curated six hours of programming. We will be asking lawyers, IP creators, innovators and clients, to share their thoughts about the trends, the challenges and the use of IP in the real world.

Mark Laudi, Founder of PitchMark LLP said: “Many innovators aren’t legally savvy and don’t know their rights when it comes to protecting their ideas. We look forward to connecting to, and having engaging conversations with IP lawyers from around the world.“

AGENDA


TIME TOPIC/SPEAKER
10:00 Central European Summer Time

16:00 Singapore Time

What action can you take against Internet Service Providers who unwittingly distribute content that infringes your copyright.

Michael Williams, Partner, Gilbert+Tobin, Sydney

10:30 CEST or

16:30 SGT

Common misconceptions and mistakes innovators and creators make - as told by a teenage novel writer turned IP lawyer.

Adrian Tan, Partner, TSMP Law Corporation, Singapore

11:15 CEST
17:00 SGT

Singapore's new copyright law takes effect next month, and so far the rights of photographers to their pictures, even when working for paying clients, has garnered most attention.

We discuss what else is in the legislation innovators and creators must know about.

Lam Chung Nian, Partner, Wong Partnership, Singapore

12:00 CEST

18:00 SGT

Selling to Taiwan - what must innovators consider when pitching ideas to prospective clients on the island.

John Eastwood, Founding Partner, Eiger Law, Taipei

12:45 CEST

18:45 SGT

Artificial intelligence – and facial recognition technology in particular - has become an essential component of law enforcement.

It also makes it both easier to copy, and easier to catch copycats.

We discuss with one of the leaders in the facial recognition space.

Jay Jhaveri, Managing Director, Asia-Pacific, Captis Intelligence, Singapore

13:30 CEST

19:30 SGT

Innovators' work is not just at risk of idea theft during the pitching process.

After your product has been manufactured, there is a whole industry of people waiting to copy it.

The Asian Coalition Against Counterfeiting and Piracy has been formed to dismantle counterfeiting supply chains.

Andrew Bradshaw, President, Asian Coalition Against Counterfeiting and Piracy, Singapore

14:00 CEST
20:00 SGT
Break for "Women in IP" session by AIPPI
16:00 CEST

22:00 SGT

While implementation of the European Union’s 2019 Digital Single Market (DSM) Directive remains in varying states of implementation amongst its 27 member nations, recent guidance from the European Commission on Article 17 as well as recent and pending judicial decisions are impacting that process.

Join us for an informative discussion about the current status of EU developments.

Ted Shapiro, Partner and Head of the Brussels office, Wiggin LLP, Brussels

17:00 CEST

23:00 SGT

The continued growth of online commerce has ushered in a new era of IP piracy and counterfeiting.

Fake goods and knock-off products, traditionally been sold on the streets in the dark of night, can now be found and purchased in the world’s most popular retail platforms and delivered to consumers at their convenience.

How have rightsowners responded to these developments and what can they expect in terms of enforcement? How is online counterfeiting undertaken, and how is it being addressed?

This session will explore various methods of online investigation and their application for clients.

Bharat Kapoor, VP, Online Brand Protection, Authentix, Paris

18:00 CEST

0:00 SGT

End of program

-

Related links

Subjects

Tags


PitchMark deters idea theft and provides you with options if it happens.

PitchMark protects the expression of your original concepts, designs, proposals, business plans, creative pitches, music - in short, any idea that you conceived and published, and claim as your own. It gives you peace-of-mind by signalling to whoever you share it with that you are its creator, and that you wish to be respected as such.

If you receive or evaluate ideas or pitches, join PitchMark as a sign of your commitment to respect the Intellectual Property rights of their creators. Attract more in-depth pitches from a wider range of sources. Highlight your PitchMark membership in your Sustainability or CSR Report.

PitchMark is registered in Singapore as a Limited Liability Partnership between Hong Bao Media (Holdings) Pte Ltd and Managing Partner Mark Laudi.

Press contacts

Mark Laudi

Mark Laudi

Press contact Managing Partner (+65) 6223 2249

Let your clients get the idea, without taking it.

PitchMark deters idea theft and provides you with options if it happens.

PitchMark protects the expression of your original concepts, designs, proposals, business plans, creative pitches, music - in short, any idea that you conceived and published, and claim as your own. It gives you peace-of-mind by signalling to whoever you share it with that you are its creator, and that you wish to be respected as such.

If you receive or evaluate ideas or pitches, join PitchMark as a sign of your commitment to respect the Intellectual Property rights of their creators. Attract more in-depth pitches from a wider range of sources. Highlight your PitchMark membership in your Sustainability or CSR Report.